The Official Website of the People’s Government of Hunan Province Mobile 中文 Français 한국어 日本語

15 July 2015

Home>Services>Quick Links>FAQ

[Study] How is higher education structured in China?

Higher education is provided by institutions of various types including general universities, technical universities, specialized institutions and teacher-training colleges, etc. And modeling on the US, Chinese higher education provides three levels of study.
University level first stage: Undergraduate
The Chinese higher education system comprises 4-year undergraduate programs in universities, specialized institutes and academies, which lead to a Bachelor's Degree (Xueshi), while studies at medical colleges and some polytechnic institutes require 5 years.
University level second stage: Postgraduate
Students can obtain a Master's Degree (Shuoshi) after generally two or three years of successful study following the Bachelor's degree, research and the submission of a thesis. Students are required to study courses in the first half of the program period. They can only enter the dissertation preparation stage if they have completed all required courses and obtained the required minimum of credits.
University level third stage: Doctorate
Doctoral degree (Boshi) program can be completed in a minimum of three years following the Master's degree. Students must have been recommended by at least two associate professors or professors who are specialists in the field. A dissertation must be presented which must prove that the candidate’s academic ability to undertake independent research and has made a significant contribution to the field. Honorary Doctor's degree is conferred by a college or university with the approval of the Degree Committee of the State Council to the outstanding scholars.